What do you mean I’m not kind? Not your kind maybe . . .

One of the reasons why I tend to game hop is that I find it difficult to find a guild where I don’t feel like another solo player who barely speaks to the other members.  I’ve made friends in some guilds, I’ve even run a guild or two.    Maybe it’s just that I have unrealistic expectations? 

The first guild where I really felt at home was in LOTRO.  Guitars for Middle Earth.  Name didn’t make much sense, but I was recently returned to MMO’s after a 8 year break, and I basically got lucky that the first invite I got happened to be in a guild where I made friends.  We ran dungeons together, helped each other out with crafting, and overall, we were a small, but tight-knit group.  Then the GM decided that he wanted us to be a raiding guild.  There was a bit of a revolution, and a group of us split off, under my unexpected leadership to form another guild that maintained what we had become accustomed to.  This lasted for a while, until Mines of Moria happened.  I didn’t enjoy the game anymore.  The Legendary Item system was a terrible grind.  Prior to Moria, high tier crafted gear was equal to max level raid/dungeon and PvP gear.  In fact, the optimum gear setup included pieces of each.  That was no longer the case as of Moria, with the introduction of Radiance.  I could go on, but the point is, I wasn’t having fun, and it was time to try something new. 

I had been a longtime Blizzard fan boy.  I had played the Diablo series, all the Warcraft and even Starcraft.  So it was only logical that I would give WoW a try.  Now, LOTRO was full of players who had an irrational hatred of WoW.  The ones that always confused me the most were those who would crap all over the game, but when questioned, had never played the game.  Unfortunately, my guild was made up of a number of those.  So, I walked away from LOTRO, and took no friends with me.

I started WoW around the time Wrath of the Lich King launched.  I saw a guild advert that caught my eye, and I joined them.  Trilogy, Steamwheedle Cartel server.  They were on a first name basis with each other, which was unusual to me.  I was uncomfortable at first, but slowly came to enjoy it.  They bore with me as I learned that I was no good as a disc priest, and learned that shadow was my bread and butter.  But then the guild leader decided that it was time for a change, and most everyone went Alliance.  I had zero desire to do so, and went my own way.

After that, I’ve hopped from guild to guild, never feeling completely at home.  I’ve made friends here and there, but I’ve yet to find a guild where I feel at home.  I went Alliance during Cataclysm, as I could not stand being a part of Garrosh’s Horde (yes, lore matters to me a great deal).  I’ve been part of fan guilds for WoW Insider, and currently in an Alliance guild for fans of Blizzard Watch, but the sheer volume of members make it hard to feel at home, especially when, inevitably, a clique of raiders become the core of the guild. 

I make no secret of my dislike of raiding.  I don’t think I’ve ever been clear on why I dislike it though.  The time commitment is a big issue.  What with my addiction issues, I try not to block out that much time for gaming.  Also, the nights that most guilds do raid nights are never convenient for me.  I don’t blame them for this, it is what it is.  LFR is toxic.  I have Trade turned off because, frankly, the loudest members of the WoW community are horrid people, and I don’t want to expose myself to that, as it detracts from my enjoyment.  Sadly, by doing LFR, I am no longer able to avoid that element.  I do the occasional LFR when I’m bored, mostly because I feel like I have to, what with the Legendary ring quests.  But even then, I do it maybe once a month.  I also don’t like my fun to be dependent on others to that level.  The sheer numbers involved with raiding means that sometimes, I’m sitting there for 20 minutes or so, doing nothing.  If I wanted to do nothing, then I wouldn’t be in game.

Now small group content, I love it.  Cataclysm was my favorite expansion for this.  5 man dungeons are the perfect challenge for me.  Small time commitment, reliance on only a handful of others, and if the dungeon is designed properly, a suitable amount of challenge where I feel satisfied upon completion.  Timewalking has been glorious for me, albeit frustrating when players who are used to the faceroll dungeons of Warlord’s dungeons can’t be bothered to learn the mechanics.

Anyways, just wanted to get this off my chest.  If anyone knows of a Horde guild that is small, tight knit and looking for a friendly player, and is preferably EST, by all means drop me a line.

3 responses

  1. I know your story, but couldn’t help you there. I have been in big and small MMOs, and learned that I had a much easier time finding a good guild in smaller MMOs.

    Maybe it’s just me, but I also think that those MMOs where players don’t feel like others are “infringing on their right to be awesome” but rather learned that all players are valuable for the game tend to develop a better community.

    Like

  2. […] A to Zeo – What do you mean I’m not kind? Not your king maybe… […]

    Like

  3. […] talks about the finding the right group, and the troubles of trying and failing to find that feeling […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

